Current Award (7th) 2016



The Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) is an international award focusing on water-related scientific innovation and judged by leading scientists from around the world. Five prizes are bestowed every two years.

Creativity Prize

Worth US$ 266,000, the Creativity Prize is by nomination only. Universities, university departments, research institutes, companies, and agencies can nominate individuals and teams of researchers for this Prize. The Creativity prize awarded to an innovator or pioneer for any water-related scientific work that can rightly be considered a breakthrough in any water-related field. The work might be a body of research, an invention, or a new patented technology.

Specialized Prizes

Each of the four specialized prizes is worth US$ 133,000. Researchers, research teams, and organizations nominate themselves for these prizes:

Surface Water Prize

Covering every aspect of the study and development of surface water resources.

Groundwater Prize

Covering every aspect of the study and development of groundwater resources.

Alternative Water Resources Prize

Covering desalination, waste water treatment, and other nontraditional sources of water.

Water Management & Protection Prize

Covering the use, management, and protection of water resources.

Each prize is accompanied by a distinctive trophy and certificate.

Creativity Prize

Value :
One Million Saudi Riyals ($266,000)
Nominators: universities; university
departments; research
institutes; companies; water
organizations and agencies
Candidates : individual researchers,
research teams
Eligible Works: published research papers,
published books, and
registered patents within the
past 5 years

Specialized Prizes

Value :
1/2 Million Saudi Riyals ($133,000)
Nominators: self nomination
Candidates : individual researchers,
research teams, water
Eligible Works: published research papers,
published books, and
registered patents within the
past 5 years

Prize Topics

PSIPW awards five prizes: a Creativity Prize and four Specialized Prizes.

Creativity Prize

The Creativity Prize is open to all pioneering and innovative research in any water-related field. The work should provide an original solution which is useful to society and contribute to development and social upliftment, while being practical, environmentally friendly , and cost-effective.

Each of the four Specialized Prizes is dedicated to the wide range of research topics that fall within its scope. In past awards, specific topics were chosen for each Prize. Nominations are open to all innovative and current research that is relevant to one of the four prizes, which together cover the entire water research landscape.

Some of the many topics that are relevant to each prize are as follows:

Surface Water Prize

Groundwater Prize

Water Harvesting
Rain & Runoff Water Modeling
Effects of Global Warming on Precipitation
Flood Mitigation & Control
Evaporation & Transpiration
Sedimentation Control in Surface Water Systems

And all other topics related to surface water

Groundwater Recharge
Groundwater Exploration & Assessment
Groundwater Contamination
Aquifer CharacteristicsPumping Tests
Pumping Tests

And all other topics related to groundwater

Alternative Water Resources Prize

Water Management & Protection Prize

Wastewater Treatment
Water Reclamation, Purification & Recycling
Innovative Water Production Methods
Cloud Seeding
Fog & Dew

And all other topics related to alternative water

Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM)
Water Conservation
Water Demand Management
Water Pollution Control
Sustainability of Water Resources
Irrigation Water Management & Conservation

And all other topics related to the
management and
protection of water resources

PSIPW welcomes nominations for all of its prizes that employ GIS, remote sensing, and other current technologies to provide innovative solutions to water-related problems.


Nominations are evaluated to determine their originality, potential impact, and applicability. Special consideration is given to how the nominated work contributes to its field of research and its usefulness to society, particularly with respect to development and solving problems on an international level.


Three committees are dedicated to the evaluation of nominations for each of the five prizes:

  1. Preliminary Screening Committee
  2. Referee Committee
  3. Selection Committee

PSIPW enlists the participation of leading scientists from around the world to act as judges on these committees.

General Conditions

  1. All nominations for the 7th Award of the Prize are to be made online through an electronic application form that is available on the PSIPW website. All required documentation and submitted works will be uploaded by way of the same form. No mail-in applications will be accepted.
  2. In the event that a team of individuals are being nominated, all team members must be named at the time of application and one member must be specified as their representative. Groups of people working on the same project may not be nominated separately. They must be nominated as a group with a single nomination form.
  3. A university, institution, or government agency is not eligible to be nominated for the Creativity Prize. The nominee must be an individual or group of individuals. Organizations can nominate themselves for one of the four Specialized Prizes.
  4. Nominations for the Creativity Prize must be made by a university, institution, or government agency on behalf of individuals or teams of researchers. Individuals may not nominate themselves or others for the Creativity Prize. Nominations for the Specialized Prizes are by direct self-nomination.
  5. The work or works being considered for the nomination must have been completed no more than five (5) years prior to the nomination deadline for the current Prize.
  6. Published research papers, published books, and registered patents may be submitted for consideration. Unpublished works and unregistered patents are ineligible for the Prize.
  7. No more than five (5) distinct works may be submitted. Multiple works should not be collected together and submitted as a single work.
  8. Works will be reviewed and judged in English. If the work being nominated was originally published in a language other than English, it must be submitted in the original language accompanied by a full translation or by a translation of the parts of the work that are to be considered for the Prize. If a partial English translation is provided for a work submitted in another language, then only that portion of the work which is translated will be considered for assessment.
  9. A nominee can only be nominated for one of the five Prizes during the same award.
  10. The work being nominated must not have previously been a recipient of any other international prize.  (However, it may have been the recipient of local or regional prizes.)
  11. Members of the Prize committees and their immediate relatives may not be nominated for the Prize.

Prize Calendar

  1. 20 February 2014: Call for nominations to the Prize and opening of the online application form for the 7th award.
  2. 31 December 2015: Deadline for receiving nominations.
  3. January-September 2016: The evaluation process.
  4. November 2016: The Prize Council announces the winners of the 7th Award.
  5. December 2016: The awards ceremony for the 7th Award.